Main content

Latest Video

In the mix: Round 10

5:53pm  May 23, 2018

Stories of Pride: Georgie Stone

11:44am  May 23, 2018

VFLW: Round 3 highlights

10:28am  May 23, 2018

Injury Report: Round 10 (22/5)

4:20pm  May 22, 2018

Perfect Ross back into top ten

Josh Gabelich  June 19, 2017 5:43 PM

Seb Ross is averaging 30.8 disposals per game this season - No. 7 in the AFL.

Seb Ross is averaging 30.8 disposals per game this season - No. 7 in the AFL.

Emerging star Seb Ross has leapt back into the top ten of the coaches award after earning the maximum 10 votes for his dominant performance in St Kilda’s 17-point win over North Melbourne on Friday night.

Ross, 24, continued his exceptional season against the Kangaroos at Etihad Stadium, collecting 32 disposals – his 9th consecutive 30+ haul – 11 contested possessions, six tackles, five clearances and 59.5 pressure points – the most on the ground.

Despite having two goals reversed by the video umpire for being slightly touched off the boot, classy forward Jack Billings earned six votes from Alan Richardson and Brad Scott following his eye-catching performance.

The 21-year-old set the game alight in the first quarter with two goals and another that was overturned, before finishing with 18 possessions, four inside 50s and eight tackles – the most of any Saint.

Key forward Josh Bruce was recognised for his important role in attack with four coaches votes, while rebounding defenders Leigh Montagna and Dylan Roberton both received three votes each for their roles across half-back.

Dual All-Australian Montagna made a statement against North Melbourne, collecting 28 disposals, a whopping 707 metres gained – the 3rd most of any player in Round 13 – an equal game-high eight intercept possessions and five rebound 50s in a vintage performance.

After 13 rounds, West Coast young gun Elliot Yeo leads the AFLCA Champion Player of the Year prize on 57 votes, one ahead of Geelong skipper Joel Selwood, with Richmond game breaker Dustin Martin and Adelaide midfielder Rory Sloane equal third on 53 votes.

Monday Wash-Up: Round 13 v North Melbourne

Round 13 AFLCA Champion Player of the Year Votes
North Melbourne v St Kilda

10 Seb Ross
6 Jack Billings
4 Josh Bruce
3 Leigh Montagna
3 Dylan Roberton
2 Todd Goldstein
1 Jarryn Geary
1 Jack Sinclair

Are you with us in 2017? Become a St Kilda member today!