TelstraAFL Live Pass
Main content

Latest Video

Ross caps brilliant season with first Trevor Barker Award

October 6, 2017 11:20 PM

Seb Ross: Trevor Barker Award Seb Ross has been named St Kilda Football Club's 2017 Trevor Barker award winner.

Seb Ross has capped a brilliant season with his first Trevor Barker Award.

The star midfielder claimed the prestigious accolade ahead of rebounding defender Dylan Roberton and St Kilda skipper Jarryn Geary.

After not polling a vote in Round 1, Ross earned votes in all but one of the remaining 21 games.

After leaping to the top of the standings following a best on ground effort in the win over Greater Western Sydney in Round 7, Ross never relinquished his stranglehold on the award.

The 24-year-old was voted best on ground on five occasions, starting against the Eagles in Round 2, before adding key performances in the win over the Giants, in the loss to Sydney in Round 9 and in the wins over North Melbourne in Round 13 and Fremantle in Round 15.

Roberton, who recently inked a four-year contract extension that ties him to St Kilda until the end of 2021, finished 25 votes behind Ross and three votes ahead of last year’s runner-up Geary.

Key defender Jake Carlisle was recognised for his impressive first season in red, white and black, finishing two votes behind Geary in fourth, while rising star Jack Billings rounded out the top five.

Former Essendon swingman Carlisle took a little bit of time to get going after sitting out the entire 2016 season, but built some strong form in the second half of the year, polling the equal most votes with Ross after Round 12.

2013 No. 3 draft pick Billings demonstrated flourished after Round 6.

Putting an injury-plagued 2016 behind him, where he finished outside the Saints’ top 10, Billings picked up votes in fifteen rounds in 2017 to rocket up the leaderboard.

After winning the past two Trevor Barker Award’s, and three of the last four, star midfielder Jack Steven finished just adrift of Billings in sixth-place.

Tasmanian defender Jimmy Webster was rewarded for his career-best season with his highest finish in the best and fairest, while young gun Jade Gresham also finished inside the top ten following an impressive season where he kicked 30 goals as a small forward.

2017 Trevor Barker Award Top 10

1. Seb Ross 159 votes
2. Dylan Roberton 124 votes
3. Jarryn Geary 121 votes
4. Jake Carlisle 119 votes
5. Jack Billings 110 votes
6. Jack Steven 108 votes
7. Jimmy Webster 88 votes
8. Jack Newnes 83
9. Jade Gresham 81 votes
10. Nathan Brown 78 votes