Main content

Pepper Money team selection: Round 5

The Saints have named three big inclusions ahead of Saturday’s crucial face-off against the Giants. Senior Assistant Coach Rohan Welsh runs through St Kilda's team selection for our Round 5 match against GWS. Brought to you by Pepper Money.

St Kilda has been bolstered by the return of Tim Membrey, Hunter Clark and Mav Weller ahead of the clash with the Giants on Saturday.

Having overcome niggling knee soreness, Membrey moved freely at training on Thursday and is a big in for a side that’s struggled to hit the scoreboard in recent weeks.

The 23-year-old has been St Kilda’s leading goalkicker for the past two seasons, and his inclusion will not only add a dose of much-needed quality in front of goal, but also provide an alternative tall target up forward for the Saints.

Newly-signed youngster Hunter Clark will play his third senior game for the club, as he looks to build further on the exciting glimpses he showed in the first two rounds. Clark’s elite kicking ability on both sides of his body should help the Saints capitalise on forward 50 entries, an area where they’ve struggled so far this year.

Mav Weller has played consistent footy at VFL level in 2018, including a five-goal haul earlier in the year. The hard-working pressure forward comes into the side on the back of a 25-disposal performance in Geelong, in which he kicked a crucial goal to seal the four points for the Zebras.

Jack Lonie has been edged out of the side, whilst Dylan Roberton and Rowan Marshall will both miss through injury.

Dylan Roberton is still undergoing various tests and is being monitored closely, whilst Rowan Marshall is recovering from a concussion sustained in the third term against the Cats.

In exciting news for Saints fans, Nathan Freeman trained strongly at the main session on Thursday and will look to return to VFL football in a matter of weeks.

B: Brandon White, Nathan Brown, Shane Savage
HB: Sam Gilbert, Jake Carlisle, Jack Newnes
C: Jarryn Geary, Jack Steele, Blake Acres
HF: Jack Sinclair, Paddy McCartin, Jack Billings
F: Jade Gresham, Tim Membrey, Ben Long
FOL: Tom Hickey, Sebastian Ross, Jack Steven
I/C: Luke Dunstan, Hunter Clark, Nick Coffield, Maverick Weller
E: Billy Longer, David Armitage, Logan Austin, Josh Battle