Co-captain Jack Steele’s list of end-of-season accolades could again be added to after receiving three separate nominations for the 2021 AFL Players’ Association MVP Awards.

Steele received nominations for the Most Valuable Player – alongside Tim Membrey and Jack Sinclair – and Most Courageous Player, along with an automatic selection with Jarryn Geary for Best Captain.

The No. 9 is also in the running to receive his second All-Australian blazer at tonight’s unveiling of the distinguished line-up.

The nomination for the MVP Award is a two-stage process. The first involves players nominating three teammates for the award, before three nominees from every club are presented to the wider playing group for a vote to decide the winner. Players cannot vote for their own teammates in stage two of the process.

Tom Highmore also snared a nomination for Best First Year player following his promising debut season at the elite level.

The mature-age recruit played just 13 games in 2021, but nevertheless placed second for the club’s average intercept possessions (5.9) and intercept marks (2.1) per game.

The 2021 MVP Awards will be held on Thursday 2 September with more details to follow regarding the format of the awards ceremony.

AFL Players’ Association MVP Awards

Most Valuable Player – Jack Steele, Tim Membrey, Jack Sinclair
Most Courageous – Jack Steele
Best Captain – Jack Steele, Jarryn Geary
Best First Year – Tom Highmore