Former Saints defender and life member Jason Blake has been elected to join the Club’s Board of Directors at the 2021 Annual General Meeting.

Blake was nominated by the Board as a replacement for retiring director Danni Roche, who stepped down after serving nine years as a Club director.

St Kilda President Andrew Bassat expressed his appreciation to Danni on behalf of all Saints’ members, acknowledging the role she played in supporting several critical decisions over the course of her tenure - including the relocation back to RSEA Park, Moorabbin, the establishment of the Danny Frawley Centre for Health and Wellbeing, as well as the formation of St Kilda’s inaugural AFL Women’s program.

“Danni’s combination of business acumen and experience at the highest level of sport has been invaluable to St Kilda and the growth of our club.  Her involvement in key legacy projects has contributed to the strong foundations upon which we aim to achieve success in coming years.”

Bassat noted that in filling the vacancy left by Danni’s retirement, the Board was determined to secure another director with elite professional sporting experience and as such was very pleased to recommend Blake for election.  

Blake registered 219 games for the club across his 14-year playing career, before transitioning into a career in construction and property development.

“Jason is a person held in extremely high regard among all who love the red, white and black,” Bassat said.

On the field, Jason exemplified pure professionalism and diligence, while off-field, his commitment to his teammates and his club were undeniable, as was his advocacy on behalf of all players via his role as a director of the AFLPA.

- President Andrew Bassat

“We believe Jason has all the qualities to make a significant contribution to our Board, with his business and football knowledge having him ideally positioned to assist us in the pursuit of the success our members crave.

Blake's nomination was confirmed by Club members without objection at last night’s AGM, alongside existing Directors Mr Jack Rush QC and Mr Dean Anderson who also submitted themselves for re-election in accordance with the rotational requirements under the Club’s rules.