Main content

Tom Curren wins Sandy's Best & Fairest

Tom Curren has won Sandringham FC's Best and Fairest
Saints Rookie Tom Curren has taken out the 2012 Sandringham Football Club Neil Bencraft Best & Fairest award, coming from behind in the final game of the VFL season to beat favourites Adam Cockie and Myke Cook.

"I'm pretty humbled because a lot of the boys on top of the leader board had great years, so anyone of them could have won it, so I'm very humbled by the honour," Curren said.

In front of a large crowd at Sandringham on Wednesday night, Curren won by the slightest of margins polling 82 votes, just in front of Adam Cockie (80) and Myke Cook who was eight votes off the pace with 74.

Going into the final game (the Elimination Final against Box Hill) Curren & Cook (72) trailed Cockie (77) by 5 votes, Curren polled 10 votes for his 25 disposal, two goal effort in the game while Cockie  only managed three votes and Cook two. 

It is only the second time at Sandringham (since the alignments began in 2000) where an AFL listed player has won the award, the other being Phil Read (Melbourne listed) in 2006.

Curren, 20, capped off a stellar season (his second as a rookie on the St Kilda list) by winning the award.

At the start of 2012 Curren had only played ten senior VFL games, adding another 19 games and 11 goals to his tally this year, averaging 18 disposals and 1.3 tackles per game.

Curren predominantly played through the middle but also swung forward and took on some tagging roles, most notably his impressive performance against reigning Liston Trophy winner Shane Valenti in Round 14.  The Zebras faced off against Port Melbourne and Curren kept Valentis' impact to a minimum.

Four St Kilda listed players rounded out the top eight players in the side, with recently elevated Rookie Sam Dunell sitting behind third place, followed by Jackson Ferguson and in eighth position Farren Ray.

Tim Mavric blitzed the field in the Development team count, he won by 23 votes from Matt Stapleton.

Throughout the evening, a number of Club Awards were also presented with Sam Dunell earning the 'Team Player Award' and Beau Wilkes receiving the 'Most Liston Votes' with eight.

Seniors Final Results:

Tom Curren            82
Adam Cockie         80
Myke Cook            74
Sam Dunell            56
Jackson Ferguson  51
Hamish Shepheard 46
Marcus Marigliani   39
Farren Ray             38

Dev Team Final Results:
Tim Mavric             85
Matt Stapleton       62
Mick Meehan         51
Chris Michaliades   47
Daniel Sands         46
Chris Waller           45
Other Dev Team Awards:

Coaches Award:           Luke Barnhoorn    
Best Defensive Player:  Jesse Plostins        
Team Player Award:      Sam Maley
Other Senior Awards:

Jack Barker Award:        Tom Curren
Coaches Award:             Myke Cook        
Most Determined:           Chris Michaliades 
Team Player Award:        Sam Dunell
Leading Goalkicker:         Daniel Archer (30)
Best First Year Player:    Jackson Coleman 
Most Courageous:           Marcus Marigliani                                                                                                 
Most Liston Votes:          Beau Wilkes (8 Votes)