Main content

Steven wins Trevor Barker Award

Trevor Barker Award spoke exclusively with Jack Steven, the 2013 Trevor Barker Award winner from St Kilda's Trevor Barker Award night.
Jack Steven of the Saints in action during the 2013 AFL Round 22 match between the St Kilda Saints and the Gold Coast Suns at Etihad Stadium, Melbourne on August 25, 2013. (Photo: Michael Willson/AFL Media)
Jack Steven has established himself as one of the best young midfielders in the AFL this year.

ST KILDA midfielder, and first time All-Australian nominee, Jack Steven has capped off a breakout season, winning his first Trevor Barker Award tonight as the club’s best and fairest player.

The 23-year-old from Lorne took his game to another level in 2013, averaging 26.9 disposals per game and featuring in the league’s top 10 in clearances, handballs and disposals.

Steven collected more than 30 possessions in seven games this season, including a career-best 47 disposals against Fremantle in Round 23.

The 2011 Rising Star nominee has played 73 games since arriving at the club in 2007.

He claimed the prestigious award after polling 152 votes, ahead of Nick Riewoldt with 115 and Leigh Montagna with 113.

Fellow All-Australian nominee Nick Riewoldt ensured a top-two finish after ranking first in the AFL for marks, taking 202 for the season at an average of 9.6 per game.

The 30-year-old re-affirmed his position as one of the game’s all-time great centre-half forwards kicking 50 goals this year, giving him another top 10 finish in the Coleman Medal.

Third place getter, Leigh Montagna, showed his class and durability for an 11th season finishing with the club’s highest disposals and kicks for the season.

The 29-year-old had 30 or more disposals in seven out of the last eight games of the season, and like Jack Steven, played all 22 games of the year.

Up-and-coming leaders Jarryn Geary and David Armitage placed fourth and fifth respectively, both capping off consistent seasons.

Rounding out the top ten were Nick Dal Santo, Sean Dempster, Clint Jones, Farren Ray and Dylan Roberton.

2013 debutants Tom Curren and Jimmy Webster were also recognised on the night. Curren received the Robert Harvey Most Professional Player award for exemplifying Harvey’s trademark work ethic and professionalism, while Webster was awarded the Most Promising Player Award for his encouraging performance this year.

Total 2013 votes for all players: 

1. Jack Steven 152 13. Jack Newnes 27 25. Nathan Wright 12
2. Nick Riewoldt 115 14. Sam Fisher 26 25. Tom Hickey 12
3. Leigh Montagna 113 15. Stephen Milne 26 27. Josh Saunders 10
4. Jarryn Geary 76 16. Sam Gilbert 25 28. Beau Maister 8
5. David Armitage 73 17. Adam Schneider 21 28. Seb Ross 8
6. Nick Dal Santo 70 18. Trent Dennis-Lane 18 30. Ahmed Saad 7
7. Sean Dempster 57 18. Jason Blake 18 30. Sam Dunell 7
8. Clint Jones 56 20. Tom Curren 17 32. Jimmy Webster 6
9. Farren Ray 51 21. Rhys Stanley 16 33. Arryn Siposs 4
10. Dylan Roberton 46 21. Terry Milera 16 34. Brodie Murdoch 3
11. Ben McEvoy 45 23. James Gwilt 15 35. Tom Ledger 2
12. Lenny Hayes 42 23. Tommy Lee 15    

Best and Fairest voting criteria:

At the completion of each game, the match committee consisting of the Head Coach Scott Watters and assistant coaches Dean Laidley, Adam Kingsley and Danny Sexton each gave 22 votes per game for the best and fairest player afield.