Main content

By the numbers: 2018 leaders

MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA - AUGUST 20:  Jarryn Geary of the Saints leads the team out during the round 22 AFL match between the St Kilda Saints and the North Melbourne Kangaroos at Etihad Stadium on August 20, 2017 in Melbourne, Australia.  (Photo by Michael Dodge/Getty Images/AFL Media)
Jarryn Geary will lead the Saints again in 2018.

Star small defender Jarryn Geary will captain St Kilda for the second consecutive season after the Saints announced their 2018 leadership group on Tuesday.

After taking the reins from St Kilda’s longest serving skipper Nick Riewoldt at the start of last year, Geary has overseen a changing of the guard in the past 12 months, with Riewoldt, Leigh Montagna and Sean Dempster all hanging up their boots.

Reigning Trevor Barker Award winner Seb Ross and star rebounding defender Dylan Roberton have been included in the group for the second year in a row, along with three-time best and fairest winner Jack Steven and ultra-durable wingman.

Three of St Kilda’s leaders filled the top-three spots in last year’s Trevor Barker Award – Ross, Roberton and Geary – while Steven finished 6th and Newnes placed two spots further back.

With St Kilda's 2018 leadership group unveiled at Moorabbin on Tuesday, has looked at the numbers behind the leaders:

Leaders Snapshot:

Jarryn Geary
29 years old
163 games
St Kilda captain since 2017
1 x runner up, 1 x 3rd  place in Trevor Barker Award
Recruited from Bendigo Pioneers via pick No. 58 in the 2006 Rookie Draft
Leadership group member since 2013

Jack Steven
154 games
3 x Trevor Barker Award
2 x All-Australian squad
Recruited from Geelong Falcons via pick No. 42 in the 2008 National Draft
Leadership group member since 2016

Jack Newnes
113 games
Recruited from Northern Knights via pick No. 37 in the 2011 National Draft
Leadership group member since 2015

Dylan Roberton
124 games (37 games for Fremantle)
1 x runner up in Trevor Barker Award
Recruited from Dandenong Stingrays via pick No. 49 in the 2009 National Draft
Leadership group members since 2017

Seb Ross
81 games
1 x Trevor Barker Award
Recruited from North Ballarat Rebels via pick No. 25 in the 2011 National Draft
Leadership group member since 2017