Main content

Pepper Money Team Selection: Round 21

Debutant Ben Paton is one of five inclusions for the Saints ahead of Friday night footy against Essendon. Opposition Coach Robbie Chancellor runs through St Kilda's team selection for our Round 21 match against Essendon. Brought to you by Pepper Money.

Alan Richardson and his selection committee have swung the selection axe, making five changes ahead of the Saints’ Round 21 clash against Essendon this Friday night.

NAB Rising Star nominee Ben Long will return to senior footy for the first time since he suffered a fractured metatarsal in his right foot in Round 7, while youngster Ben Paton will make his senior debut.

Long played restricted minutes in the VFL a fortnight ago, but the promising Darwin product has trained strongly and his dynamism in the forward line could prove influential.

READ: The Long road back

Ben Paton has been named as the emergency ten times so far in 2018, and the ex-Murray Bushranger finally gets his chance at the big-time.

A big-bodied utility with the ability to win the hard ball as an inside midfielder, the 19-year-old looms as an exciting prospect for the Saints in years to come.


With both Tom Hickey and Billy Longer unavailable for the remainder of the season, St Kilda welcomes two young big men back into the fold in Rowan Marshall and Lewis Pierce.

Rowan Marshall boasts both height and athleticism, and his ability to rest from the ruckwork as a key forward will come in handy in place of the injured Josh Battle, who was unable to recover from a concussion.

Fellow tall Lewis Pierce will play just his second senior game – his first in over 2 years – having debuted for the Saints in Round 12, 2016.

Rounding out the inclusions for the Saints is Bailey Rice, the hard-nosed father-son selection whose improving ball use will play a crucial role exiting the back half.

Luke Dunstan, Nick Coffield and Hunter Clark have been omitted.

Pepper Money Team Selection: Round 21


Jarryn Geary

Jake Carlisle

Jack Newnes


Daniel McKenzie

Nathan Brown

Jimmy Webster


Nathan Freeman

Jack Steele

Jack Sinclair


Jack Lonie

Tim Membrey

Jack Billings


Jade Gresham

Rowan Marshall

David Armitage


Lewis Pierce

Jack Steven

Sebastian Ross


Blake Acres

Ben Long

Bailey Rice

Ben Paton




Luke Dunstan

Hugh Goddard

Ed Phillips


Nick Coffield



IN: Ben Paton, Bailey Rice, Lewis Pierce, Rowan Marshall, Ben Long
OUT: Josh Battle, Tom Hickey (both injured), Luke Dunstan, Nick Coffield, Hunter Clark