The St Kilda Football Club is one of the foundation clubs of the Victorian Football League which evolved into the AFL in 1990.

The Saints are one of 18 clubs who compete in the national competition, representing more than 40,000 members and a significant community in Melbourne’s south stretching from Port Melbourne to Portsea.

The Saints will also field a team in the AFL Women’s competition from 2020, helping change the face of football in the region.

The club is also represented in the Victorian Wheelchair Football League and is affiliated with Sandringham in the VFL which sees players who are aren’t selected for the Saints each weekend wear the Zebras jumper.

Born in 1873, St Kilda has a proud history defined by champions such as Darrel Baldock, Trevor Barker, and more recently Nick Riewoldt.

The Saints were originally based at Junction Oval in St Kilda before moving the club’s training and administration base to Moorabbin in 1964.

St Kilda won its first and only premiership in 1966 while enjoying its most successful period in the 1960s.

The Saints were one of the powerhouse teams between 2004 and 2012 when it competed for two flags in 2009 (against Geelong) and 2010 (against Collingwood), winning more games than any other during that period.

St Kilda moved its training and administration base to Seaford in 2011, which paved the way for the redevelopment at RSEA Park in Linton Street, Moorabbin.

In 2018, the Saints returned to their spiritual heartland of Moorabbin and to a new $40 million headquarters that rivals any other in Australian sport.

The club shares these state-of-the-art facilities with the Sandringham Dragons, the Southern Football League and the South Metro Junior Football League, as part of the club’s commitment to the community.

The Saints are proud of their contribution which includes a range of programs designed to foster inclusion and provide an opportunity for every young footballer in the region to reach their potential.