Jack Sinclair is officially a two-time Best & Fairest winner, tonight receiving the distinguished Trevor Barker Award for the second consecutive year amid one of the club’s most celebrated seasons in recent times. 

The dual All-Australian (237 votes) ended the gripping count just a handful ahead of vice-captain Callum Wilkie (228), with the two tied at the midpoint of the season, before Sinclair found some separation off the back of his dominant vein of form post-bye.

Rowan Marshall (205) rounded out the podium for the second time in his career, while young duo Mitchito Owens (172) and Nasiah Wanganeen-Milera (164) were rewarded for their breakout seasons with a finish inside the top-five.


Elevating beyond his exemplary 2022 campaign in St Kilda’s milestone 150th year, Sinclair starred both off half-back and - in extended, often match-winning bursts - through the midfield to play an undeniable hand in steering his side back into September.

Averaging a career-best 29 disposals, 501 metres gained and five rebound-50s per game - all ranked as elite - in the Saints’ first season back under Ross Lyon, the No. 35 found his name linked in conversations surrounding not only his side’s best players, but those across the competition.

The 28-year-old was this year elevated to the club’s leadership group for the first time, earned his second All-Australian blazer, finished equal-ninth alongside All-Australian captain Toby Greene in the AFL Coaches’ Association Champion Player of the Year Award and finished just shy of the top-10 from this year’s 2023 Brownlow Medal count with 21 votes.

2023 Trevor Barker Award

Sinclair now joins 29 other Saints in claiming multiple club Best & Fairest accolades, joining current teammates Jack Steele and Seb Ross, alongside current assistant coaches Lenny Hayes and Robert Harvey, in elite St Kilda company. 

Including Sinclair, only 13 Saints have won the club’s most coveted individual honour in consecutive seasons since the award was inaugurated in 1914.

In other awards across the night, Sinclair received the fan-voted CMC Markets Sainter of the Year, Wilkie’s commitment to the team was recognised with the Lenny Hayes Team Trademark Award, Tom Campbell snared the Robert Harvey Best Clubman Award, while Owens and Wanganeen-Milera couldn’t be split in the Best Emerging Player Award. 

St Kilda’s historic Trevor Barker Award night also came complete with the announcement of Chery Motor as Co-Principal Partner; the club’s first ever automotive partner.  

2023 Trevor Barker Award

1. Jack Sinclair (237 votes)
2. Callum Wilkie (228 votes)
3. Rowan Marshall (205 votes)
4. Mitchito Owens (172 votes)
5. Nasiah Wanganeen-Milera (164 votes)
=6. Brad Crouch (142 votes)
=6. Bradley Hill (142 votes)
8. Jack Higgins (119 votes)
9. Jack Steele (118 votes)
10. Josh Battle (115 votes)

Additional award winners

Lenny Hayes Team Trademark Award - Callum Wilkie
Robert Harvey Best Clubman Award - Tom Campbell
Best Emerging Player Award - Mitchito Owens & Nasiah Wanganeen-Milera
CMC Markets Sainter of the Year - Jack Sinclair