St Kilda has rightful claim to the status of 'trail-blazer' when it comes to Indigenous footballers.

As of 2022, 29 Indigenous men have represented the red, white and black, with their incredible talent and ability to excite at the forefront of their careers.

The very first indigenous footballer to line up for St Kilda was James "Jim" Wandin in 1952.

Wandin was a senior figure in the Victorian indigenous community at the time as the ngurungaeta (head man) of the Wurundjeri people.

He played just 17 games over two seasons as the 12th Aboriginal player to play at VFL level in the first 55 years of the league.

Robert Muir was the next indigenous player to represent the Saints when he made his debut 21 years after Wandin’s time at St Kilda came to a close.

Known mainly for his firebrand style, Muir’s immense talent is often forgotten. Muir played just 68 games for the Saints but played with a distinct flair that made him a fan favourite at Moorabbin.

Throughout his playing career, Muir was subjected to frequent racial slurs and abuse as one of the only Indigenous stars in the VFL at the time, and in 2020 revealed to the ABC the ongoing mental health battles and scars that had persisted throughout his life as a result of these traumas.

00:55 Mins
Published on

"One day, we'll be equal."

This is how much Sir Doug Nicholls Round means to Ben Long.

Published on

The 1980s and early 1990s saw St Kilda lead the way with recruiting Indigenous footballers.

Phil Narkle, Russell Jeffrey, Greg and Gilbert McAdam, Bob Jones, Jim Krakouer and Dale Kickett all represented the Saints, who had the second-best Indigenous representation of the time behind West Coast.

But none were as extraordinary as Nicky Winmar.

The boy from Pingelly left an inspiring legacy across his 12 seasons at Moorabbin, playing 230 games for the red, white and black and becoming the first ever Indigenous player to reach the prestigious 200-game milestone.

But it is Winmar’s stand against racial vilification in 1993 that defined his career, with his proud gesture immortalised in Australian sporting history; its significance to a nation and a people unparalleled.

01:59 Mins
Published on

The Ripple Effect | Trailer

To coincide with Sir Doug Nicholls Indigenous Round, the 60-minute documentary The Ripple Effect will be released. Centring around Nicky Winmar, the film delves into the ongoing impacts of racism through some of Australia's most prominent Indige...

Published on

Today, the club's rich indigenous legacy continues through Jade Gresham, Ben Long, Paddy Ryder and Bradley Hill, each enriching the Saints with their proud culture and aptitude for the unbelievable.

In 2021, St Kilda proudly wore an Indigenous guernsey designed by Winmar across Sir Doug Nicholls Round. The moment coincided the Winmar-led documentary, The Ripple Effect, and affiliated program Point + Be Proud, which aims to educate the community about the ongoing impacts of racism on Indigenous mental health and wellbeing. 

Inspired by Winmar’s famous stand against racism in 1993 at Victoria Park, The Ripple Effect – produced by St Kilda Football Club in partnership with Dickson Films and VicHealth and led by St Kilda Indigenous Liaison Officer Nathan Lovett-Murray – delves into racism in Australia through the eyes of the nation’s most prominent and inspiring athletes of colour.

Season 2022 saw St Kilda feature nine Indigenous players on its playing list, with seven of those – Bradley HillPaddy RyderJade GreshamBen LongNasiah Wanganeen-MileraMarcus Windhager and Jarrod Lienert – taking to the field in Round 4 against Hawthorn in a 149-year first for the club. 

St Kilda's Indigenous Senior Players

James “Jim” Wandin 1952-53
Robert Muir 1974-80
Eric Clarke 1975-76
Phil Narkle 1984-86
Greg McAdam 1985
Nicky Winmar 1987-94
Russell Jeffrey 1987-91
Bob Jones 1988-89
Jim Krakouer 1990-91
Gilbert McAdam 1991-93
Dale Kickett 1991-92
Gavin Mitchell 1998-2000
Sean Charles 1999-2000
Freddie Campbell 2000-01
Xavier Clarke 2002-08
Allan Murray 2003-06
Raphael Clarke 2004-12
Nicholas Winmar 2010-12
Terry Milera 2012-14
Jade Gresham 2016-
Ben Long 2017-
Koby Stevens 2017-2018
Matthew Parker 2019-2020
Robbie Young 2019
Paddy Ryder 2020-
Bradley Hill 2020-
Nasiah Wanganeen-Milera 2022-
Jarrod Lienert 2022-
Marcus Windhager 2022-