Main content

Pepper Money Team Selection: Round 9

Marsh marches back in as the club seeks to end a three-game losing streak. - St Kilda Saints,Jonathon Marsh,Robbie Young
Marsh marches back in as the club seeks to end a three-game losing streak.

The Saints have made two changes as the club seeks to end a three-game losing streak.

Jonathon Marsh has wasted no time in storming back into the senior-line up, called up after an emphatic VFL display.

The key defender dominated from defence against the Magpies’ VFL team, responding from his AFL axing with 26 disposals and 13 marks.

Marsh is one of two inclusions in the senior side, alongside speedster Robbie Young, with Ben Long (omitted) and Jimmy Webster (hand) set to miss.

SPEEDSTER TO DEBUT: Saints unleash speed machine Robbie Young

Despite playing through discomfort against the West Coast Eagles, Webster was forced out for the Magpies’ clash after failing to train at Thursday’s main session.

Marsh wont he race to fill the void down back, with Brandon White and Nick Hind other pressing for selection.

The key defender made an emotional return to AFL football in Round 7 against the Giants in Canberra, kicking his first ever goal in the process.

As reported earlier, Young will become the Saints’ third debutant this season after a series of strong performances for Sandringham in the VFL.

The livewire’s blistering speed and ferocity at the contest are the hallmarks of his game, with the exciting forward set to form a formidable partnership with fellow mature-age recruit Matty Parker.

White and Hind were again named emergencies, with Billy Longer and Long also in the squad.

IN: Robbie Young, Jonathon Marsh

OUT: Ben Long (omitted), Jimmy Webster (hand)

Team Selection: Round 9


Daniel McKenzie

Nathan Brown

Shane Savage


Callum Wilkie

Josh Battle

Ben Paton


Ed Phillips

Sebastian Ross

Jack Newnes


Jack Billings

Josh Bruce

Maty Parker


Blake Acres

Tim Membrey

Jade Gresham


Rowan Marshall

Jack Steele

Jack Sinclair


Luke Dunstan

Dean Kent



Robbie Young

Jonathon Marsh



Billy Longer

Ben Long



Brandon White

Nicholas Hind