Jack Steele has been awarded the 2021 Trevor Barker Award to cap off another stellar year.

The now two-time Best & Fairest polled 234 votes, topping the count to finish 79 votes clear of runner-up Jack Sinclair.

The redeployed Sinclair (155 votes) – who also picked up the Robert Harvey Best Clubman Award – was joined by Tim Membrey (136) at this year’s podium. Defender Callum Wilkie (124) finished in fourth, while recruit Brad Crouch and Bradley Hill tied in fifth on 120 votes apiece.

Seb RossDougal HowardJimmy Webster and Max King, who snared the Best Emerging Player Award, rounded out the top-10.

Steele’s latest distinction comes less than a month after earning his second consecutive All-Australian honour and the AFL Players’ Association Robert Rose Most Courageous Player Award, along with top-five finishes in the AFL Coaches’ Association Champion Player of the Year and AFL Players’ Association Most Valuable Player.

The co-captain added to his night with his fourth Lenny Hayes Crest Player Award – given to the Saint who best upheld the values of the club crest throughout the season – and the fan-voted Dare Sainter of the Year. 

He now becomes one of 29 Saints to accept multiple Trevor Barker Awards, joining the likes of two-time recipients Tony Lockett, Nicky Winmar and Ian Stewart, among several others.

Steele averaged a career-best 29 disposals, 14 contested possessions, eight tackles and six clearances throughout Season 2021 – all of which were ranked as elite – to put him in prime position to poll exceptionally well at Sunday’s Brownlow Medal count.

For Sinclair, tonight’s second-placed finish marks his first time inside the top-10 of a Trevor Barker Award, while two-time Best & Fairest and new Life Member Ross registered his sixth consecutive year inside the top-10. Wilkie also charted his third straight top-10 placing since joining the club as a rookie in 2019.

2021 Trevor Barker Award

1. Jack Steele (234 votes)
2. Jack Sinclair (155 votes)
3. Tim Membrey (136 votes)
4. Callum Wilkie (124 votes)
=5. Brad Crouch (120 votes)
=5. Bradley Hill (120 votes)
7. Seb Ross (117 votes)
8. Dougal Howard (112 votes)
9. Jimmy Webster (105 votes)
10. Max King (101 votes)

Additional award winners

Jack Sinclair - Robert Harvey Best Clubman Award, presented by Deliveroo
Jack Steele - Lenny Hayes Crest Player Award, presented by Challenge
Max King - Best Emerging Player Award, presented by Pepper Money
Jack Steele - Dare Sainter of the Year