Jaimee Lambert has tonight etched her name into AFLW history, securing her fourth Best & Fairest after winning the Saints’ coveted accolade in her first season at the club.

The 31-year-old was exceptional in her new colours after making the move from Collingwood during last season’s Sign & Trade Period, proving her midfield dominance and experience, time and time again, as the Saints pushed for a maiden finals berth.

Lambert left no stone unturned in St Kilda’s stunning turnaround following a 0-3 start to the season, finishing the year as the club’s leading ball-winner with an average of 19 disposals, six tackles and five clearances per game.

Her proficiency through the middle - especially on the inside - proved crucial in countless instances throughout the year, while her potency in front of goal was just as noted to chart equal-third in the club’s goalkicking behind Exon and Wardlaw.

Lambert’s stellar campaign additionally saw her as the Saints’ leading vote-getter in the AFLCA AFLW Champion Player of the Year Award (41 votes) and earn selection in the All-Australian squad for the sixth time.

Young star Tyanna Smith finished runner-up in her return campaign after missing the previous two seasons recovering from an ACL injury, with fellow on-baller Georgia Patrikios close behind in third. 

It’s the second time Smith has charted in second at St Kilda’s AFLW Best & Fairest - the first coming from her debut season in 2021 - and Patrikios’ third time on the podium; the previous two times seeing her crowned Best & Fairest.

Olivia Vesely’s continued rise was duly rewarded with a fourth-placed finish, while Lions-turned-Saints Nat Exon and Jesse Wardlaw couldn’t be separated in fifth.

In other awards across the night, Smith received the Always a Saint Award for best exemplifying the team’s values on and off the field, Lambert the fan-voted Red Rooster Sainter of the Year Award, Ash Richards deemed the Best Emerging Player, while AFLW List & Recruiting Manager/Head Analyst, Anthony Tang, was presented the staff-specific Bernadette Sierakowski Allegiance Award. 


St Kilda 2023 AFLW Best & Fairest

1. Jaimee Lambert (70 votes)
2. Tyanna Smith (56)
3. Georgia Patrikios (48)
4. Olivia Vesely (39)
=5. Jesse Wardlaw (35)
=5. Nat Exon (35)
7. Grace Kelly (24)
8. Hannah Priest (23)
9. Ash Richards (22)
10. Molly McDonald (20)

Always a Saint Award - Tyanna Smith
Best Emerging Player Award - Ash Richards
Red Rooster Sainter of the Year - Jaimee Lambert
Bernadette Sierakowski Allegiance Award - Anthony Tang