Rowan Marshall has catapulted up the Saints' coaches' votes tally to draw level with captain Jack Steele, earning seven votes for his efforts in Launceston over the weekend.

The big-hearted ruckman reeled in 35 hit-outs, 28 disposals (23 contested; a career-best), 12 clearances and 11 tackles in his duel against Hawthorn's Lloyd Meek to directly keep the red, white and black in the hunt against the Hawks, finishing the day with the Saints' Silk-Miller Memorial Medal despite the five-point loss.


It's the third time Marshall has received the honour, previously winning the accolade during the 2020 match-up between the Saints and Hawks up forward before returning to the ruck in 2022 to clinch the medal once again.

Marshall levelled Hawthorn's Silk-Miller Memorial Medal recipient Karl Amon on seven votes, with Jai Newcombe pipping the duo with nine of his own. 

Meanwhile, leaders Jack Steele and Callum Wilkie added a vote apiece to their respective totals, while Jarman Impey (three) and Jack Scrimshaw (two) made up the rest of the voting for the Hawks.

Coaches' votes | Round 9

9 - Jai Newcombe (HAW)
7 - Rowan Marshall (STK)
7 - Karl Amon (HAW)
3 - Jarman Impey (HAW)
2 - Jack Scrimshaw (HAW)
1 - Jack Steele (STK)
1 - Callum Wilkie (STK)

St Kilda AFLCA votes | Leaderboard

19 - Rowan Marshall
19 - Jack Steele
14 - Jack Sinclair
13 - Nasiah Wanganeen-Milera
12 - Bradley Hill
8 - Darcy Wilson
5 - Jack Higgins
4 - Seb Ross
4 - Callum Wilkie
3 - Max King
2 - Josh Battle
2 - Liam Henry
3 - Marcus Windhager