Liam Henry, Darcy Wilson, Riley Bonner and Hugo Garcia have been named for their first official appearances in Saints colours as part of tomorrow’s match simulation against Essendon at RSEA Park.

The Saints will field a near full-strength 26-man squad for their first hit-out of the year against opposition, headlined by skipper Jack Steele, All-Australian Callum Wilkie, new leadership group inductee Rowan Marshall and key forwards Max King and Tim Membrey.

Jack Sinclair (calf), Brad Crouch (knee), Hunter Clark (concussion), Paddy Dow (knee), Dan Butler (ankle) and Zak Jones (concussion) are among the players who will miss Friday’s match simulation, however all have eyes on potential early season returns. 

Several Saints – including some who have been selected in the AFL match simulation – will take part in a VFL practice match for Sandringham against Essendon’s VFL side at RSEA Park later in the afternoon.

Those attending on Friday are strongly encouraged to utilise public transport to get to and from the game, with parking around RSEA Park extremely limited. The game will also be broadcast on Kayo from 2:00pm.

St Kilda v Essendon | Match Simulation Squad

1. Jack Higgins
2. Marcus Windhager
6. Seb Ross
7. Nasiah Wanganeen-Milera
8. Bradley Hill
9. Jack Steele
10. Mitch Owens
12. Max King
13. Ryan Byrnes
14. Liam Stocker
19. Rowan Marshall
20. Dougal Howard
21. Zaine Cordy
22. Darcy Wilson
23. Liam Henry
25. Mattaes Phillipou
26. Josh Battle
28. Tim Membrey
29. Jimmy Webster
32. Mason Wood
34. Hugo Garcia
36. Riley Bonner
38. Tom Campbell
43. Cooper Sharman
44. Callum Wilkie
47. Anthony Caminiti

Sandringham v Essendon | VFL Practice Match Squad 

4. Lance Collard
17. Isaac Keeler
21. Zaine Cordy
24. Angus Hastie
27. Arie Schoenmaker
30. Matthew Allison
34. Hugo Garcia
38. Tom Campbell
39. Olli Hotton
41. Angus McLennan
45. Liam O'Connell
47. Anthony Caminiti
50. Anthony Seaton
51. Darby Hipwell
54. Will Brown
55. Hugo Hall-Kahan
56. Tarkyn O'Leary
58. Vincent Zagari
59. Ollie Lowe
66. Luca Macnab
67. Sam Latrielle
70. Blake Watson
74. Mitch Ryan
76. Tom Blamires
77. Bayleigh Welsh
81. Logan Young
83. Levi Young
99. Misilifi Faimalo